Thai Massage

If you expect a relaxing hour when you book in for a Thai massage, you will be sadly mistaken. However, if you want to be pummelled, prodded, poked and pulverised, this is the way to go.

Included in our booking at Thara Patong Beach Resort was an hour’s complimentary massage.

My husband was massaged by a man. Later, when we were discussing our experience, my spouse posed a question:

What sort of people in Thailand pay good money to be beaten to a pulp?

His answer: Tourists. I am inclined to agree.

And don’t think I got away with it lightly, having a female massage me. She put her whole weight into it. Some manoeuvres involved this petite Thai lady wrap her legs around mine (in a non-sexual way – well it is Thailand and I want you to know there was no happy ending here!), and utilise her feet to pound my legs.

It was quite different to massages I have in Australia, which are usually remedial massages for muscle strain or injury. I wonder what our Chirpractor daughter thinks of this type of massage?

There is no oil used in this Thai massage; no soothing and relaxing strokes. I believe you can opt for other types of massage, including the use of oil, which adds another 50THB to the price. For an hour of Thai massage, the price seems to be around 200THB. That’s pretty good value when you consider that $7.00 in Australia might get you about a five minute massage!

2 responses to “Thai Massage

  1. Writing this from Carmel by the Sea, and Oh, my…much different than my sports therapy massage by Paul, nestled in the woods in a Cabana like Log cabin in Yosemite. Pure bliss. Daryl opted out, instead going for a beer while I was in heaven. Hope you both came out of this experience bruise free.

Leave a Reply

